Body Mass Index…not my favorite health indicator…

I went to the Piedmont Mountainside Medical Ladies’ Morning Out at Chattahoochee Tech this morning and led an hour of Zumba and also did an ab track and a cooldown.  I really appreciate the Zumba gals who joined me!  I had my bone density checked and that was good.  I also had my BMI calculated.  This morning, I was at the very top level of the “healthy” range.  If the number had been just a fraction higher, I would have been considered overweight.  I’m not a real big fan of BMI because it does not take muscle mass into consideration when it’s being calculated.  If you are curious about yours though, here’s a BMI calculator.  Keep in mind that the muscle and fat have very different composition.  If you have a pound of muscle and a pound of fat beside each other, the muscle takes up less space, but still weighs the same.  BMI calculators don’t take that into account.

Breakfast- one biscuit with honey and one slice of bacon with two cups of coffee

Morning…snack?…or early lunch-  a fruit skewer with strawberry, melon, and blueberries, a sample of shrimp and grits and a thin slice of frittata from Madeline’s Cafe at the Ladies’ Morning Out.  I also had a bottle of water and another cup of coffee.  Then I tasted a small sample of a berry smoothie with vanilla yogurt and skim milk.  It was really good!

Lunch…I guess…Maybe a mid-afternoon snack-  a Chobani Greek yogurt, blueberry flavor with granola and walnuts and a cup of hot ginger tea

Late afternoon snack- four Ritz crackers with Sabra Roasted Red Pepper hummus and a glass of water. Later, Barry got a craving for some spiced nuts, so I found a recipe online and HAD to taste a few of them, of course.  They were ok.

Supper- I made a pot of dry yellow-eye beans with ham again today, so a big bowl of those is what I had for supper, along with a glass of skim milk.  I made cornbread and fried potatoes for the others too, but I didn’t eat any.

I’m getting ready now to go with Mama to the Tater Patch production of The Dixie Swim Club tonight.  I’ll probably be in a “snacky” mood when I get home, so I’ll try to stick to fruit or maybe a spoonful of peanut butter.

Leave a comment